Tuesday, 1 April 2014

Lazy blogger? Intermittent fasting and more

So almost 2 months since I started (and last posted) on my blog?  Am I lazy? No, a lazy blogger perhaps though.


I happened to start work properly again 4 weeks ago, and did a lot of keeping in touch (KIT) days the month before.  I'm not complaining, I love my job, and working from home has it's benefits too, a lot easier to stick to eating good without all the cakes coming into the office , which happens with every-bloody-job I have had.


So, what shall I write about first, the shrinking part or the mummy part?  I think the latter has probably gone better than the former, so I choose that first.


Josh appears to have his own ideas though in what suits him in terms of routine etc.  I was all planned to be a good "gina" or "tizzie" mummy this time round, naps all set out right etc, it just ain't happening. 


Chronic one nap cycle issue+preschooler+going to nursery 4 days a week=not much set routine in terms of his naps other than trying to put him down around 2 hours after he has woken.  Doesn't seem to be affecting nightime (yet!) I don't think, so not overly fussed, plus I love the sleepy cuddles I sometimes get if he is set on not napping in his cot at that point.


However, he seems to be, in general, a very happy baby.  We also moved him into the room with his sister just over a week ago, which I love, sorry to say, because I do sleep a lot better. Although both Friday night and sunday night he co-slept with us from about 3am as he has an annoying cough, as does his big sis, which wakes him up. It's amazing the new found hatred you have for germs when they are affecting your kids (and subsequently also your sleep-yes I am being honest here, this plays a BIG part).


Hmm, now the shrinking part.  Got to work this out , since 7th Feb I have lost 8.5 lbs, not bad actually in 8 weeks, but it was very yo-yo like, hence the despondent feeling.  Weight loss is VERY psychological for me. Most sane (?) people when they have had a stressful day reach for a glass or white or red.  I reach for the chocolate, or more often than not, the takeaway menu!   I then tend to feel like I have blown it and eat whatever I want for the next couple of days, not productive!


About a year ago I heard of 5:2 (or intermittent fasting) , where you spend 5 days eating normally and 2 days on about a quarter of the calories you need to go about your daily life and stay the same weight. I wasn't keen on that approach when I heard of it, I thought it was, quite frankly, a bit mental. However, last month I kept coming back to the idea in my mind, and last week I decided to give it a shot.  Last Thursday and yesterday I spent my day on 500 calories, yes I still squint when I say that out loud (or on the computer, you get my drift).  When in actuality, it wasn't that bad.  I still ate 3 square meals each time and wasn't ravenous at bedtime. 


I weighed in this morning, and due to the domino's (I told you) I consumed last Tuesday evening before I decided to give this a shot, I wasn't expecting a major loss, it was more about making sure I didn't gain weight, but I actually lost 2.5 lbs this week! Amazing!  I am definitely sticking with it, I feel it is more sustainable for me, especially when half of the week I have my daughter trying to shove bits of her chocolate in my mouth.

No comments:

Post a Comment